DIY….. How I make a Bead embroidered cuff bracelet

 

I have loved working with a needle and thread since I was a very young girl.  My Grandmother helped my Mom to raise us and she was a big influence on me.  She and my Mom were very crafty Ladies and they passed it on to me.

When I was about 6 or 7 Grandma started to teach me to embroider.  She would take me to the dime store and buy me little handkerchiefs and pillow cases with pretty color book like patterns printed on them; and skeins of beautiful colored floss. She could make beautiful things happen with those simple things and I was thrilled every time she taught me a new stitch. Then she taught me needlepoint and cross stitch and I was over the moon…..

Over the years I have learned and loved many different art forms and crafts and often came back to my old friends a needle and some thread.

Grandma and Mom are now gone and I am a Grandma.  I have a new passion involving a needle and thread and that is Bead Embroidery.  I wouldn’t have the skills it takes to do it if it wasn’t for the seeds planted many many years ago by those 2 strong women.

So I thought I would show kind of a DIY for how I am making my latest beaded cuff bracelet…..It’s not meant to be a step by step but more of a DYI overview.  Maybe it will spark a passion for needle and thread in someone like my Grandma did in me…..

So I’ll start by saying I have a relaxed design style I am not a big planner I like to let my designs develop organically. I think that’s why I am bored following patterns so I rarely do it.  I get really excited by the surprise of what happens .

Color is my main inspiration; then shape and texture.  For this project I was inspired buy a beautiful glass button I bought some time back so it is the focal piece for the bracelet.  I also choose some Swarovski crystal in complimentary colors. So the next step was to pick a background to stitch on.IMG_0462

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I measured and cut a strip of the plum colored backing material and glued down the button……………………………………

IMG_0470

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now it’s time to choose some beads for the bezel..This part is fun…………………………………………………………………………………….

IMG_0476

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I made a peyote stitched bezel around the button.  Doing this helps hold the focal button in place and embellishes the button.{it looks pretty so I am happy}……………………………….IMG_0480

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now it’s time to start placing the crystals.  I kind of play with the placement until it looks pleasing to me then I stitch a  peyote bezel around it too.IMG_0482

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now there are 1 focal and 2 crystals bezeled now it’s time to start playing with some other beads to see what I want to do next.  I have some vintage bugle beads that my Mom had in her stash and I think I my stich some of these down next..What do you think so far?  Once I decide I will glue down the tanzanite colored crystals, bezel them and start adding the bugle beads and who knows where I’ll go from there.

IMG_0484

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to see how this bracelet progresses check out my next post.  I’ll keep taking photos and posting as I go along….I hope reading this was interesting…..

Now I’m going to go back to beading my cuff……TTFN.

One thought on “DIY….. How I make a Bead embroidered cuff bracelet

Leave a Reply

