The sweet smell of soap in my house

One of my favorite things to do is to make soap.

Besides it being pretty and it smelling good it is one of the best things I can do for my families skin.  The soaps from the stores are loaded with detergents and things that strip the skin and age it quicker.  I make my soaps the old fashion way with skin loving oils and butters.  I have been using handmade soap for many years now and would never use a detergent bar again.

I use the Hot Process method to make my soap=making soap this way produces a rich creamy rustic looking soap.  After cooking the soap in a crock pot I put it into a wooden loaf mold to harden and when it’s done I am left with a “loaf ” of soap that weighs about 2 1/2 lbs. of finished soap

Next I cut the loaf of soap into 8 bars and put them on a drying racks to cure for a month or so.  After curing they are ready to be used and boxed up for sale.

Above is Manuka Lavender and Victorian Black Rose olive oil soap.  When I make soap I make about 20 lbs because that’s all my racks will hold, usually 8 different scents.  In addition to these I also made Chestnuts and brown sugar,Bamboo Sugarcane,White Chocolate Karibu,Japanese Pear and Ginseng{my fave},Satara sandalwood and Cinnamon Apple Berry.  My curing room smells awesome.

Next week end I will be making soy candles………

Leave a Reply

