I taught myself something new

When I feel uninspired or unfocused I find the best cure is to teach myself something new to spark my creative energy.

I have been wondering what new thing I wanted to learn and I thought why not take an old skill and use it in a new way.  Ages ago I used to do basket weaving like a lot of other people in the 70’s [yes I’m old} and remembered I really enjoyed it but quit because I was a young single Mom and to broke and tired to keep up with it.  So yesterday I was wondering how it would look if I took a basic weave pattern and used wire instead of  reeds.  And after working out in my head some of the ways to go about it I gave it a try.  Guess what it worked and my first try doesn’t look 1/2 bad.  The weave needs to be tighter and more even but with a better vice and a little practice that should be easy  to do.

The pattern is pretty and it’s a very sturdy bracelet I wore it last night and so did my 3yr old granddaughter and it held it’s shape really well.  And the most important thing is that it was fun and something new to help my creativity.

If you want to see a closer image of the bracelet so you can see how pretty the pattern is just click on the photo to enlarge.

 

I would really like to know what you do when you are in a creative slump.

6 thoughts on “I taught myself something new

Leave a Reply

